The availability of reliable, quality and affordable power helps in the rapid agriculture, industrial and overall economic development of the state. The total installed utility power generation capacity is nearly 20,000 MW in the state. Only 11,400 MW is the committed power supply to the state with power purchase agreements. Rest of the capacity is exporting electricity mainly to Telangana state depending on fuel availability. Significant amount of investments were made for building up generation capacity, strengthening transmission and distribution network, industrial feeder segregation, loss reduction and improving quality of power supply.

Current situation of power supply in Andhra pradesh

power is being supplied to domestic, commercial and industrial consumers along with agricultural consumers in rural areas through mixed feeders. There are 706 dedicated/express industrial feeders. Seven hours three phase power supply is being given to agricultural consumers mostly in single/two spells and supply timings are rotated every 7 days. Rural areas are given single phase domestic lighting from 6 PM to 6 AM. Three phase supply to rural areas for domestic, commercial and industrial consumers is along with agricultural supply only. As a result, most of the consumers, other than agricultural, in rural areas on mixed feeders get between 12 to16 hours of supply every day, depending on agricultural supply spell timings. Agricultural feeders have been separated from domestic feeders in fourteen mandals on a pilot basis during in 2011.

The requirement of electricity i.e., both, energy and peak demand are expected to increase significantly in Andhra Pradesh from the present level of 43,684 MU & 6,158 MW to 82,392 MU and 13,436 MW respectively by FY 2018-19 due to:

  • Natural Load Growth.
  • 24×7 power supply to all consumers
  • Increase in electrification of households
  • Additional energy requirement for upcoming capital city and associated investments.
  • New Industrial corridors

Non renewable energy

Thermal power

Thermal power plants are based on the fuel coal, gas, diesel etc. Public sector undertaking NTPC, state level power generating companies and private firms are engaged in this sector for power generation. They contribute approx. 8,630MW capacity. Some important thermal power plants of Andhra pradesh are as follows :


Simhadri Super Thermal Power Plant :         Parawada (Visakhapatnam),   2000 MW capacity

Dr Narla Tatarao TPS :                                    Ibrahimpatnam (Krishna),      1760 MW capacity

Rayalaseema Thermal Power Station  :            Muddanur ( Kadapa),            1050 MW capacity

Sri Damodaram Sanjeevaiah  Power Station   Krishnapatna (Nellore)           1600 MW capacity

Vizag Thermal Power Station                           Gajuwaka  (Visakhapatnam) 1040 MW capacity

Simhapuri Thermal Power Station                   Krishnapatanam    (Nellore)   600 MW capacity

Meenakshi Thermal Power Station                   Krishnapatanam    (Nellore)    300 MW capacity


Gas turbine power plants


APGPCL Plant                                              Vijjeswaram        (W. Godavari)   272 MW

Lanco Kondapalli Power Plant                     Kondapalli          (Krishna)           1466 MW

Gautami Combined Cycle Power Plant        Peddapuram       (E. Godavari)    464  MW

Konaseema Combined Cycle Power Plant   Ravulapalem    (E. Godavari)       445 MW

Vemagiri Combined Cycle Power Plant        Vemagiri        (E. Godavari)        370 MW

Silkroad sugar power plant                             Kakinada     (E. Godavari)           35 MW



Renewable energy resources


Major hydroelectric power plants in Andhra Pradesh are as follows:

Chettipeta Mini Hydel plant                  West Godavari district

Donkarayi PH                                          E. Godavari

Lower Sileru PH                                        E. Godavari

Machkund PH                              Located in Odisha (Joint project of Andhra Pradesh & Odisha)

Nagarjuna Sagar Right Canal PH              Nagarjuna Sagar Dam, Guntur district

Penna Ahobilam PH Korrakodu                  Anantapur district

Polavaram Hydro-Electric project                Polavaram, West Godavari

Srisailam Right Bank PH                               Srisailam, Kurnool

Upper Sileru PH                                                 Visakhapatnam


Solar energy  in Andhra pradesh

Solar power policy, 2015

With the increasing consumption of solar energy in India, the state government of Andhra Pradesh has also decided to avoid the power crisis by utilizing solar power in the state. Andhra Pradesh has released the detailed list of qualified bidders for 500 MW solar projects, 63 bids qualified the selection criteria, totalling up to 1291 MW. To boost the Solar energy sector, the government plans to facilitate installation of about 5,000 MW of solar power generation by 2019.

The Andhra pradesh has total installed solar power capacity of 980 Megawatt. Some important solar power projects in Andhra pradesh are as follows :

NP Kunta Ultra Mega Solar Power Project      Nambulapulakunta Anantapur ( 250 mw)

Amruth Solar Power Plant                                  Kadiri                      Anantapur ( 1 mw)

MEIL Green Power Limited                              Nagalapuram            Anantapur ( 50  mw)


Wind power in Andhra pradesh

Wind power policy, 2015

Andhra Pradesh government has released its new wind power policy, the new policy will be known as Andhra Pradesh Wind Power Policy 2015. It will replace the previous policy in the state. The policy has been revised to attract new investment in the state. NREDCAP will act as a Nodal Agency under this policy.  The new policy targets of achieving 4000 MW capacity addition through wind power in next five years. The main objectives of the state government is to encourage & develop the wind energy generation in the state, to attract private investment and establish large wind projects. The policy will remain applicable for next 5 years or till amended or replaced by new policy. Wind power projects commissioned under the policy will be eligible for the incentives declared under this policy, for a period of 10 years .

The Andhra pradesh has total installed wind power capacity of 1866.35 MW. Some important wind power projects are as follows :

Ramagiri Wind Mills   Ramagiri

Narmada Wind farm    Nallakonda

Puthlur RCI Wind farm Puthlur














APPSC GROUP 1 Notes brings Prelims and Mains programs for APPSC GROUP 1 Prelims and APPSC GROUP 1 Mains Exam preparation. Various Programs initiated by APPSC GROUP 1 Notes are as follows:- For any doubt, Just leave us a Chat or Fill us a querry––